31st July 2019

The NSW Government has announced the re-appointment of Ms Ruth Mackay as Chair of the Mining and Petroleum Competence Board.

Executive Director of the NSW Resources Regulator Anthony Keon says since its establishment in 2015, the Board has set the standard for safety and competence across the mining sector.

“The NSW Government is committed to ensuring the mining and petroleum industry in our state has a sustainable, safe and prosperous future,” Mr Keon said.

“The board aims to improve mine safety by contributing to the development of world leading competence standards. It does so as part of an overall strategy to improve mine safety and performance.”

The Board is made up of representatives of employers and employees in the mining and petroleum industry. Current organisations represented are:

  • Cement Concrete & Aggregates Australia
  • NSW Minerals Council
  • Construction, Forestry, Maritime, Mining and Energy Union
  • Australian Workers’ Union
  • Resources Regulator, NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment

Through its Strategic Plan to 2020, the Board is continuing its focus on developing processes and communications strategies that allow for quick, consistent and accurate safety information being provided to the industry.

“The implementation of scheduled and targeted safety assessments and competence programs for mines and petroleum sites is a crucial element in mine safety,” Mr Keon said.

“Since publishing the Strategic Plan in 2015 the Board has introduced practising certificates for workers in safety critical roles, a maintenance of competence scheme and brought improvements to examiner appointments and the conduct of exams.”

As an independent chair, Ms Mackay will support the board to facilitate frank and open discussion and to develop an effective scheme to ensure best practice WHS and engineering standards are maintained across the industry.

Ms Mackay’s appointment is for a period of three years.

For more information on the Mining and Petroleum Competence Board visit www.resourcesandgeoscience.nsw.gov.au