Skip to main content

A NSW Government website

Mine Safety Advisory Council

The NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council aims to increase the emphasis on safety and health within the NSW mining and extractives industry

About the council

The NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council (MSAC) was established in 1998 following recommendations made in the Mine Safety Review and Gretley Inquiry to provide the Minister with advice on WHS issues of critical importance to the NSW Government. The council was strengthened in 2006 and has aimed to increase the emphasis on safety and health within the NSW mining and extractives industry by reviewing and analysing safety performance, setting strategic directions, providing advice, and developing policy recommendations.

The Minister refers matters to the council for its consideration and advice on ways to foster improved health and safety performance in the industry. These matters have included:

MSAC members are representatives mining industry stakeholder groups. See the current membership below.

You can contact the board by emailing the secretariat.

Operation and strategy

MSAC has a constitution (PDF, 348.31 KB) that guides its operation and includes its terms of reference. The council operates in an environment of trust and cooperation to address these issues and meets at least four times a year. Copies of all meeting minutes of the council are published on the website. Meeting agendas are published prior to each meeting.

The council's current strategy document, Strategic Plan to 2023 (PDF, 197.49 KB) explains the strategic direction and action priorities for MSAC until 2023.

MSAC has identified the following priority focus areas to work towards its goal of world-leading work health and safety. The priority focus areas are:

  • Focus on health
    • Health surveillance
    • Airborne contaminants
    • Health and wellbeing
  • Focus on fatal incidents, serious injuries and illness
    • Serious injuries and illness
    • Incidents and employment status
    • Identifying risks of fatal incidents and disease
  • Focus on emerging trends

Annual reports

Chairperson and members

Mine Safety Advisory Council (MSAC) members are representatives of some of the most respected bodies in the mining industry, including the Construction, Forestry, Maritime, Mining and Energy Union (Mining and Energy Division), Australian Workers Union, NSW Minerals Council and Cement, Concrete and Aggregates Australia. Two independent experts in work health and safety and a representative of the NSW Department of Regional NSW have also been appointed to the MSAC.

Name Nominee of (organisation)
Hon. George Souris Chair
Ian Cribb NSW Minerals Council (coal)
Aaron Brannigan NSW Minerals Council (metalliferous)
Graeme Osborne Construction Forestry Maritime Mining and Energy Union (CFMMEU) Mining & Energy
Robin Williams Construction Forestry Maritime Mining and Energy Union (CFMMEU) Mining & Energy
James Collings Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
Peter Day NSW Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
Julie Armour Independent expert
Prof. Deborah Yates Independent expert

You might also be interested in: