

NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council

Meeting 3 – 2 September 2021

Meeting details

Name	NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council
Location	Online (via Microsoft Teams)
Date/Time	Thursday 2 September 2021, 9am to 12pm
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris

Agenda items

Paper	Description	Timing		
Introduction				
1	Welcome and Chair's report	9:00 - 9:05		
2	Declaration of interests	9:05 - 9:10		
3	Acceptance of previous minutes and actions	9:10 - 9:15		
4	Correspondence	9:15 - 9:20		
Business arising				
5	Recommendations for MSAC from report on the statutory review of the WHS (MPS) laws	9:20 - 9:40		
6	Simplifying plant registration requirements	9:40 - 10:00		
7	Queensland Coal Mining Board of Inquiry – Grosvenor review	10:00 - 10:20		
8	National Dust Diseases Task Force	10:20 - 10:35		
Standing agenda items				
9	Member updates	10:50 - 11:00		
	a. Coal Services report to MSAC			
10	Review of coal industry health surveillance scheme steering committee	11:00 - 11:10		
11	Legislative framework update	11:10 - 11:20		

NSW MINE SAFETY ADVISORY COUNCIL

Meeting 3 – 2 September 2021

Paper	Description	Timing
12	NSW Resources Regulator report	11:20 - 11:30
13	Mine safety levy report	11:30 - 11:40
14	Additional business	11:40 - 11:50
15	Next meeting and meeting close	11:50 - 12:00

Meeting attendees

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris Independent
Members	Garvin Burns (deputy for Anthony Keon) Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
	Brock Skelton Australian Workers' Union, New South Wales Branch
	Graeme Osborne Construction Forestry Mining Maritime and Energy Union
	lan Cribb NSW Minerals Council (Coal)
	Matthew Freeman Cement Concrete & Aggregates Australia
	Peter Jordan Construction Forestry Maritime Mining and Energy Union
	Rob Cunningham NSW Minerals Council (Metalliferous)
	Julie Armour Independent
	Deborah Yates Independent

NSW MINE SAFETY ADVISORY COUNCIL

Meeting 3 – 2 September 2021

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Secretary	Tony Linnane
	Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
Secretariat support	Anna Ormerod
	Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
Observers	Lucy Flemming
	Coal Services
	James Barben
	NSW Minerals Council
	Jason Kuchel
	Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
	Leigh Nicholls (Acting Chief Inspector)
	Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW