

NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council

Meeting 4 – 2 December 2021

Meeting details

Name	NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council	
Meeting number	Meeting 4 for 2021	
Location	Hunter Valley Mines Rescue Station 6 Lachlan Avenue, Singleton Heights	
Date/Time	Thursday 2 December 2021Hunter Valley Mines Rescue Station inspectionMSAC meeting	8am to 9am 9am to 12pm
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris	

Site inspection

Description	Timing
Site inspection – Hunter Valley Mines Rescue Station	8:00 – 8:50
Tea/coffee	8:50 – 9:00

Meeting agenda items

Paper	Agenda item	Timing
Introduction		
	Welcome by Chair and introduction of special guest Georgina Beattie, Deputy Secretary, Mining Exploration and Geoscience	9:00 – 9:10
1	Chair's report	9:10 – 9:15
2	Declaration of interests	9:15 – 9:17
3	Acceptance of previous minutes and actions	9:17 – 9:20
4	Correspondence	9:20 – 9:25

DOC21/849025 Page 1 of 3

NSW MINE SAFETY ADVISORY COUNCIL

Meeting 4 – 2 December 2021

Paper	Agenda item	Timing	
Busine	Business arising		
5	Recommendations for MSAC from the report on the statutory review of the WHS (MPS) laws	9:25 – 9:35	
6	Survey of mining industry on perceptions that labour hire and non- permanent workers under-report safety concerns	9:35 – 9:45	
7	Impacts of COVID-19 and mandatory testing in the mining industry	9:45 – 9:55	
8	MSAC Strategic Plan	9:55 – 10:05	
9	MSAC Annual Report 2020-2021	10:05 – 10:15	
10	2022 meeting dates	10:15 – 10:20	
Standing agenda items			
11	Member updates a. Coal Services report to MSAC	10:20 – 10:50	
12	National Dust Diseases Task Force	10:50 – 10:55	
13	Legislative framework update	10:55 – 11:00	
14	NSW Resources Regulator report	11:00 – 11:15	
15	Mine safety levy report	11:15 – 11:20	
16	Additional business	11:20 – 11:25	
Presen	Presentation		
17	University of Illinois (Chicago) presentation on review of coal industry health surveillance scheme	11:25 – 11:55	
Meetin	Meeting close 11:55 – 12:00		

Meeting attendees

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris Independent
Members	Garvin Burns (deputy for Anthony Keon) Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW

DOC21/849025 Page 2 of 3

NSW MINE SAFETY ADVISORY COUNCIL

Meeting 4 – 2 December 2021

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
	Brock Skelton
	Australian Workers' Union, New South Wales Branch
	Graeme Osborne
	Construction Forestry Mining Maritime and Energy Union
	lan Cribb
	NSW Minerals Council (Coal)
	Peter Jordan
	Construction Forestry Maritime Mining and Energy Union
	Rob Cunningham
	NSW Minerals Council (Metalliferous)
	Julie Armour
	Independent
	Deborah Yates
	Independent
Special Guest	Georgina Beattie, Deputy Secretary
	Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
Secretary	Tony Linnane
	Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
Secretariat	Anna Ormerod
support	Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
Observers	Lucy Flemming
	Coal Services
	James Barben
	NSW Minerals Council
	Jason Kuchel
	Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
	Leigh Nicholls (Acting Chief Inspector) Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
	nesources negulator, Department of neglottal NSW

DOC21/849025 Page 3 of 3