

# NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council

Meeting 1 – 3 March 2022

## **Meeting details**

Name	NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council
Meeting number	Meeting 1 for 2022
Location	Department of Regional NSW
	Executive Boardroom, Level 2
	516 High Street, Maitland
Date	Thursday 3 March 2022
Time	9am to 12pm
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris

# Agenda

Paper	Agenda item	Timing		
Introduction				
1	Chair's report	9:00 - 9:05		
2	Declaration of interests	9:05 - 9:08		
3	Acceptance of previous minutes and actions	9:08 - 9:12		
4	Correspondence	9:12 – 9:15		
Business arising				
5	Implementation of recommendations of the statutory review of the WHS (MPS) laws	9:15 – 9:35		
6	Survey of mining industry on perceptions that labour hire and non- permanent workers under-report safety concerns	9:35 – 9:55		
7	Psychosocial hazards (including bullying and harassment)	9:55 – 10:15		
8	Resourcing and pipeline of statutory roles under WHS (MPS) laws (schedule 10)	10:15 - 10:35		

### NSW MINE SAFETY ADVISORY COUNCIL

#### Meeting 1 – 3 March 2022

Paper	Agenda item	Timing	
Standing agenda items			
9	Member updates a. Coal Services	10:35 – 10:50	
10	National Dust Diseases Task Force	10:50 - 11:00	
11	Legislative framework update	11:00 - 11:10	
12	NSW Resources Regulator report	11:10 - 11:20	
13	Mine safety levy report	11:20 - 11:25	
14	Update on MSAC Strategic Plan	11:25 – 11:30	
Other business			
15	Additional business	11:30 – 11:35	
16	Review of coal industry health surveillance scheme	11:35 – 11:55	
17	Next meeting and meeting close	11:55 – 12:00	

## **Meeting attendees**

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris Independent
Members	Peter Day (delegate for Anthony Keon) Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
	Brock Skelton Australian Workers' Union, New South Wales Branch
	Graeme Osborne Construction Forestry Mining Maritime and Energy Union
	lan Cribb NSW Minerals Council (Coal)
	Rob Cunningham NSW Minerals Council (Metalliferous)

## NSW MINE SAFETY ADVISORY COUNCIL

#### Meeting 1 – 3 March 2022

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
	Julie Armour
	Independent
	Deborah Yates
	Independent
Secretary	Tony Linnane
	Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
Secretariat support	Anna Ormerod
	Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
Observers	Lucy Flemming
	Coal Services
	James Barben
	NSW Minerals Council
	Aaron Brannigan
	NSW Minerals Council (Metalliferous)
	Jason Kuchel
	Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
	Leigh Nicholls
	Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
	Robin Williams
	Construction Forestry Mining Maritime and Energy Union
	Lewis Stoll
	Manager Policy, Mining Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW