

NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council

Meeting 1 – 2 March 2023

Meeting details

Name	NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council
Meeting number	Meeting 1 for 2023
Location	Department of Regional NSW 516 High Street, Maitland
Date	Thursday 1 December 2023
Time	9am to 12pm
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris

Agenda

Paper	Agenda item	Timing		
Introd	luction			
1	Welcome and Chair's report	9:00 – 9:03		
2	Declaration of interests	9:03 – 9:05		
3	Acceptance of previous minutes and actions	9:05 – 9:10		
4	Correspondence	9:10 – 9:15		
Business arising				
5	Discussion on final report of the Review of Health Surveillance Scheme for Coal Mine Workers	9:15 – 10:15		
	Morning tea	10:15 – 10:30		
6	Update on development of MSAC Strategic Plan 2023-2026	10:30 – 11:00		
Standing agenda items				
7	Member updates a. Coal Services	11:00 – 11:10		
8	National Dust Disease Task Force	11:10 – 11:15		
9	Legislative framework update	11:15 – 11:20		

RDOC23/53139 Page 1 of 3

NSW MINE SAFETY ADVISORY COUNCIL

Meeting 1 – 2 March 2023

Paper	Agenda item	Timing	
10	NSW Resources Regulator report	11:20 - 11:40	
11	Mine safety levy report	11:40 – 11:50	
Other business			
12	2023 meeting dates and venues	11:50 – 11:55	
13	Additional business	11:55 – 12:00	
	Meeting close	12:00	

Meeting attendees

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris Independent
Members	Prof. Deborah Yates Independent
	Graeme Osborne Mining and Energy Union
	Kylie Ah Wong (delegate of Ian Cribb) NSW Minerals Council (Coal)
	James Collings Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
	Julie Armour Independent
	Peter Day Resources Regulator, Mining Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
	Robin Williams Mining and Energy Union
	Aaron Brannigan NSW Minerals Council (Metalliferous)

RDOC23/53139 Page 2 of 3

NSW MINE SAFETY ADVISORY COUNCIL

Meeting 1 – 2 March 2023

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Secretary	Tony Linnane
	Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
Secretariat	Anna Ormerod
	Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
	Leanne Hunter
	Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
Observers	Georgina Beattie
	Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
	Garvin Burns
	Resources Regulator, Mining Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
	Lucy Flemming
	Coal Services
	James Barben
	NSW Minerals Council
	Jason Kuchel
	Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
	Ron Cowdrey
	Australian Workers' Union, New South Wales Branch
Apologies	Ian Cribb
	NSW Minerals Council (Coal)

RDOC23/53139 Page 3 of 3