

Agenda

NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council

Meeting details

Meeting number: 3 for 2023

Location: NSW Minerals Council, 12 O'Connell Street, Sydney

Date/time: 7 September 2023, 9am – 12pm

Chairperson: Hon. George Souris AM

Agenda Items

Paper	Agenda item	Timing	
Introduction			
1	Acknowledgement of Country and Chair's report	9:00-9:05	
2	Declaration of interests	9:05-9:10	
3	Acceptance of previous minutes and actions	9:10-9:15	
4	Correspondence	9:15-9:20	
Business arising			
5	MSAC Strategic Plan 2024-2026	9:20-9:40	
6	Review of the coal worker health surveillance scheme	9:40-10:00	
	Welcome and address by Hon. Courtney Houssos MLC, Minister for Natural Resources	10:00-10:30	
7	Vehicle interaction and collision avoidance	10:30-10:45	
8	MSAC Annual Report 2022-2023	10:45-11:00	
Standing agenda items			
9	Member updates	11:00-11:10	
10	National Dust Disease Task Force	11:10-11:20	

RDOC23/139610 1

Paper	Agenda item	Timing	
11	Legislative framework update	11:20-11:30	
12	NSW Resources Regulator report	11:30-11:40	
13	Mine safety levy report	11:40-11:50	
Other business			
14	2023 meeting dates and venues	11:50-11:55	
15	Additional business	11:55-12:00	
16	Meeting close	12:00	

Meeting attendees

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris Independent
Members	lan Cribb NSW Minerals Council (Coal)
	Aaron Brannigan NSW Minerals Council (Metalliferous)
	James Collings Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
	Graeme Osborne Mining and Energy Union
	Robin Williams Mining and Energy Union
	Ron Cowdrey Australian Workers' Union, New South Wales Branch
	Peter Day Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
	Julie Armour Independent
	Prof. Deborah Yates Independent
Secretary	Tony Linnane Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW

RDOC23/139610 2

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Secretariat support	Anna Ormerod Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
	Vanessa Cleary Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
Observers	Georgina Beattie Chief Executive Officer, Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
	Anthony Margetts A/Chief Inspector, Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
	Lucy Flemming Coal Services
	James Barben NSW Minerals Council
	Jason Kuchel Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
Apologies	

RDOC23/139610 3