

Agenda

NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council

Meeting details

Meeting number: 4 for 2023

Location: Coal Services Newcastle Mines Rescue Station,

Room 1, 533 Lake Road, Argenton

Date/time: 7 December 2023, 9am – 12pm

Chairperson: Hon. George Souris AM

Agenda Items

Paper	Agenda item	Timing		
Introdu	Introduction			
1	Acknowledgement of Country and Chair's report	9:00-9:05		
2	Declaration of interests	9:05-9:10		
3	Acceptance of previous minutes and actions	9:10-9:15		
4	Correspondence	9:15-9:20		
Business arising				
5	Review of the coal worker health surveillance scheme	9:20-9:40		
6	Airborne contaminants management and reporting framework for the metalliferous and quarries sectors	9:40-10:00		
7	MSAC Strategic Plan to 2026	10:00-10:20		
Standing agenda items				
8	Member updates	10:20-10:40		
9	National Dust Disease Task Force	10:40-10:50		
10	Legislative framework update	10:50-11:00		
11	NSW Resources Regulator report – • Compliance priorities for January to June 2024	11:00-11:25		

RD0C23/188868 1

Paper	Agenda item	Timing	
	 Quarterly safety report Adverse vehicle interaction advisory committee		
	Regulating sexual harassment in the mining industry		
12	Mine safety levy report	11:25-11:30	
Other business			
13	2024 meeting dates and venues	11:30-11:35	
14	Additional business	11:35-12:00	
	Meeting close	12:00	

Meeting attendees

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris Independent
Members	James Collings Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
	Ian Cribb NSW Minerals Council (Coal)
	Graeme Osborne Mining and Energy Union
	Robin Williams Mining and Energy Union
	Ron Cowdrey Australian Workers' Union, New South Wales Branch
	Peter Day Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
	Julie Armour Independent
	Prof. Deborah Yates Independent
Secretary	Tony Linnane Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW
Secretariat support	Amanda Quin Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW

RDOC23/188868 2

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Observers	Anthony Margetts Chief Inspector, Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
	Kylie Harris NSW Minerals Council (metalliferous sector)
	Lucy Flemming Coal Services
	James Barben NSW Minerals Council
	Jason Kuchel Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
Apologies	Nil

RDOC23/188868 3