

# **NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council**

**Meeting 1 – 11 March 2021** 

# **Meeting details**

Name	NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council
Location	CFMMEU office 67A Aberdare Road, Cessnock
Date/Time	Thursday 11 March 2021, 9am – 12pm
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris

# **Agenda items**

Paper	Description	Timing			
Introdu	Introduction				
1	Welcome and Chair's report	9:00 – 9:05			
2	Declaration of interests	9:05 – 9:10			
3	Acceptance of previous minutes and actions	9:10 – 9:15			
4	Correspondence	9:15 – 9:20			
Business arising					
5	Recommendations for MSAC from report on the statutory review of the WHS (MPS) laws	9:20 – 9:40			
6	Analysis of serious injuries notifications	9:40 – 10:00			
7	Fatality at Cowal Gold Mine	10:00 – 10:20			
8	Review of coal industry health surveillance scheme	10:20 - 10:40			
9	Safe Work Australia amendment proposal – WESFAC standard for carbon dioxide in coal mines	10:40 – 11:00			
Standing agenda items					
10	Member updates	11:00 – 11:10			

DOC20/1026644 Page 1 of 3

#### **NSW MINE SAFETY ADVISORY COUNCIL**

### Meeting 1 – 11 March 2021

Paper	Description	Timing
11	Legislative framework update	11:10 – 11:20
12	NSW Resources Regulator report	11:20 – 11:30
13	Mine safety levy report	11:30 – 11:40
14	Multi-media campaign sub-committee	11:40 – 11:50
15	Additional business	11:50 – 11:55
16	Next meeting and meeting close	11:55 – 12:00

# **Meeting attendees**

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris
Members	Anthony Keon
	Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
	Brock Skelton
	Australian Workers' Union, New South Wales Branch
	Graeme Osborne
	Construction Forestry Mining Maritime and Energy Union
	lan Cribb
	NSW Minerals Council (Coal)
	Julie Armour
	Independent
	Matthew Freeman
	Cement Concrete & Aggregates Australia
	Peter Jordan
	Construction Forestry Maritime Mining and Energy Union
	Rob Cunningham
	NSW Minerals Council (Metalliferous)

DOC20/1026644 Page 2 of 3

# **NSW MINE SAFETY ADVISORY COUNCIL**

Meeting 1 – 11 March 2021

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
	Tony Cartwright Independent
Secretary	Tony Linnane Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
Secretariat support	Anna Ormerod Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW
Observers	Lucy Flemming Coal Services
	James Barben NSW Minerals Council
	Jason Kuchel Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
	Garvin Burns Resources Regulator, Department of Regional NSW

DOC20/1026644 Page 3 of 3